#WCW : Babes Wodumo

No doubt we gonna start off our chilly Wednesday with some female appreciation.. and who would be more deserving than Durban’s Latest(& Hottest) Hit Maker, Bongekile Simelane popularly known as “Babes Wodumo“.. I’m certain the whole of S.A knows who she is but if not, here a brief intro..

In 2014, she jumped onto Sir Bubzin’s song, Desha, which features Big Nuz & DJ Tira. Then 2015, she appeared on Tsege Tsege and Benu Benu, which are both well known on the album, For The Fans.She was then signed to Mampintsha’s West Ink label, and is also fiercely loyal to it and its parent company, DJ Tira’s Afrotainment. But it’s really with her first single as a solo artist that Babes Wodumo is living up to her name.

babes

Explaining her stage name – which means “the famous Babes”. She says : “When I was born, there was a grouup called The Babes and I had eyes like one of them. So my father used to always say to me: ‘Lo uw’Babes’ (this one is Babes).”

“Then the ‘Wodumo’ came because I used to do everything – dancing, acting, athletics, soccer, everything – and became famous for it. If something can’t talk, it can’t defeat me. That’s what I told myself.”

 

ad8c3e6084594e8d84a66aa6dcde91b9

Wololo is in fact a cautionary tale about not letting fun get you so inebriated that you don’t know where or how you ended up sleeping. “We were in studio and my friend ashaye amanzi amponjane (got drunk). I was embarrassed so I said to myself, let me go and put her to sleep in the bedroom. She woke up and started screaming my name because she didn’t remember where she was. I said: ‘You get so drunk that you don’t know where you slept?’ No, let me get into the studio and do this gimmick. Even others must know to not just sleep anywhere.”

 

Watch her first music video ever for her first & fire single “Wololo” #DurbanStandUp

 

 

IOL Babes real

 

Source | iol.co.za

Join the convo.. Leave a Reply

